[Ads-l] (Off topic) Problem with Quote Investigator website content

Barretts Mail mail.barretts at GMAIL.COM
Thu Aug 30 13:55:03 EDT 2018

Ohh, you’re right. That page came from a relevant page. Anyway, you might call them. Just Google for Google telephone number :)

> On 30 Aug 2018, at 10:53, ADSGarson O'Toole <adsgarsonotoole at GMAIL.COM> wrote:
> Thanks for your response, BB. The page you linked concerns a different
> (but related) problem. That page is about the content created by
> advertisers. Some ads are disapproved by Google because of
> unacceptable content.
> I am hosting advertisements and not creating them. Google does not
> wish to display advertisements on webpages that contain unacceptable
> content. They have sent me "violation report", but my website content
> is quite tame.
> I was hoping a list member would visit the following webpage and tell
> me if they observe any taboo content.
> https://quoteinvestigator.com/2010/05/07/remember-1960s/
> Attempting to communicate with Google can be a Sisyphean task; hence,
> the goal is to learn what I can first.
> On Thu, Aug 30, 2018 at 1:31 PM Barretts Mail <mail.barretts at gmail.com> wrote:
>> It looks like Google actually responds to this sort of issue:
>> https://support.google.com/google-ads/contact/approvals
>> BB
>> On 30 Aug 2018, at 10:05, ADSGarson O'Toole <adsgarsonotoole at GMAIL.COM> wrote:
>> The Quote Investigator website runs advertisements from Google
>> (Adsense). The Google advertising organization sent me a note stating
>> that the following webpage of the QI website violates their guidelines
>> for content. It supposedly contains "adult sexual content". I cannot
>> see any forbidden content, but it is possible that my website has been
>> hacked, and hackers are creative enough to partially hide
>> content/links. Also, sometimes content is only visible to a subset of
>> visitors.
>> https://quoteinvestigator.com/2010/05/07/remember-1960s/
>> Does anyone else see forbidden content on this webpage? Please look at
>> the full page including comments?
>> My current wild guess involves the link to comedian Charles
>> Fleischer's Facebook page. If you click on his name at the beginning
>> of his comment the link leads to his Facebook page. The Facebook page
>> contains abstract images that might be misinterpreted by a computer
>> program. It also contains a picture of dinosaurs in flagrante delicto.
>> I may be required to disable this link.
>> Thanks for any feedback
>> Garson
>> ------------------------------------------------------------
>> The American Dialect Society - http://www.americandialect.org
> ------------------------------------------------------------
> The American Dialect Society - http://www.americandialect.org

The American Dialect Society - http://www.americandialect.org

More information about the Ads-l mailing list