4th INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CORPUS LINGUISTICS



Language, corpora and applications: diversity and change (CILC2012)

22-24 March 2012 http://www.cilc2012.es Department of English Philology UNIVERSITY OF JAÉN



SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS

The Spanish Association of Corpus Linguistics (AELINCO) and the local Organizing Committee are pleased to remind you that the **4th International Conference on Corpus Linguistics (CILC2012)** will be hosted by the University of Jaén from 22 to 24 March 2012.

We invite members of AELINCO and the academic community at large to submit paper and poster proposals (abstracts) dealing with the conference main topic within any of the nine panels established by the Society. Under the theme Language, corpora and applications: diversity and change, the fourth edition of this conference welcomes proposals for papers, posters or panel discussions on such issues as corpus-based linguistic evolution, corpus-based genre and register linguistic variation, recently-compiled corpora, minority language corpora, corpora and applied fields (translation, terminology, lexicography, second language teaching and acquisition, etc.), computational advances in corpus-based linguistic research, etc.

CILC2012 will be pleased to welcome the following plenary speakers, all of whom have already confirmed their participation:

- Prof. Dr. Sebastian Aarts. University College London, United Kingdom.
- Prof. Dr. Teresa Fanego. Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain.
- Prof. Dr. Geoffrey N. Leech. University of Lancaster, United Kingdom.
- Prof. Dr. Detmar W. Meurers. Universität Eberhard Karls, Tübingen, Germany.
- **Prof. Dr. Matti Rissanen**. *Helsingin yliopisto* (University of Helsinki), Finland.
- Prof. Dr. Paul Thompson. University of Birmingham, United Kingdom.

As in previous editions, two pre-conference workshops will be held on Wednesday 21 March. The first one will deal with **Spoken Corpora** and the second one with **English historical corpora compiled in Spain**. More detailed information will be provided in the second Call for papers.

CILC2012 is structured into nine thematic panels:

- 1. **Corpus design, compilation and types**, chaired by Dr. Francisco Alonso Almeida, *Universidad de las Palmas de Gran Canaria*.
- 2. **Discourse, literary analysis and corpora**, chaired by Dr. José Luis Oncins, *Universidad de Cáceres*.
- 3. **Corpus-based grammatical studies**, chaired by Dr. Javier Pérez Guerra, *Universidade de Vigo*.
- 4. **Corpus-based lexicology and lexicography**, chaired by Dr. Pedro Fuertes Olivera, *Universidad de Valladolid*.

- 5. **Corpora, contrastive studies and translation**, chaired by Dr. María de los Ángeles Gómez, *Universidad de Santiago de Compostela*.
- 6. **Corpora and linguistic variation**, chaired by Dr. María José López Couso, *Universidade de Santiago de Compostela*.
- 7. **Corpus-based computational linguistics**, chaired by Dr. Carlos Subirats, International Computer Science Institute, Berkeley, California.
- 8. **Corpora, language acquisition and teaching**, chaired by Dr. Raquel Criado Sánchez, *Universidad de Murcia*.
- 9. **Special uses of corpus linguistics**, chaired by Dr. Isabel de la Cruz Cabanillas, *Universidad de Alcalá de Henares*.

Guidelines and deadline for abstract submissions

- Paper and poster proposals must be abstracts written in English or Spanish, and should contain between 500 and 550 words (excluding references).
- Abstracts must be in MSWord (doc or docx). The file name should contain at least the first six words of the title followed by "_text" (e.g., Corpus_linguistics_in_Europe_text.doc/docx).
- The author's name or affiliation must not be included anywhere in this file.
- Abstracts must be submitted through EasyAbs: http://linguistlist.org/confcustom/customabssub.cfm?Emeetingid=1002J84658766E5A408040441.
- When filling out the abstract submission form in EasyAbs, please choose only one panel.
- The deadline for abstract submission is 1 January 2012.
- Notification of acceptance will be sent out by 25 January 2012.

We look forward to your contributions and to meeting you in Jaén next year! Jaén, 1st October 2011.

THE ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Alejandro Alcaraz Sintes (cilc2012@ujaen.es)
Ana Díaz Negrillo
Antonio V. Casas Pedrosa
Salvador Valera Hernández
Javier Díaz Pérez
Jesús Fernández Domínguez
Miguel Á. Benítez Castro