THE HIGH-LEVEL L2 CONFERENCE – INSIGHTS AND PERSPECTIVES

August 22-24, 2013 Stockholm University

The seven-year research programme "High-Level Proficiency in Second Language Use", funded by Riksbankens Jubileumsfond (The Bank of Sweden Tercentenary Foundation), organizes a conference which aims at presenting main results from the programme as well as providing an opportunity for feedback from the international academic forefront on our research.

Programme (for details see attachment)

Two types of papers will be presented at the conference:

- 1) Five invited speakers will each talk on a topic from their own research which has relevance for the theme of high-level proficiency in second language use.
- 2) Each of the nine (first phase) and five (second phase) subprojects of the programme will present results from some aspect of their research followed by comments by one of the invited speakers. The comments will have been prepared on the basis of extended abstracts.

Invited speakers

- Pauline Foster, St Mary's University College, Twickenham, London, UK
- Batia Laufer, University of Haifa, Israel
- Ben Rampton, King's College, London, UK
- **Rob Schoonen,** University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Peter Skehan, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK

Start and end of conference

Start: Thursday, August 22, 9.30 (Registration) - End: Saturday, August 24, 13.00

Participation

The number of conference participants is limited. Therefore, applications will be accepted in order of reception. Applications should include name, affiliation, regular mail and e-mail addresses. For application, please contact Margaretha Willberg at the Centre for Research on Bilingualism: margaretha.willberg@biling.su.se.

Kenneth Hyltenstam
Professor of Bilingualism
Professor of French
Professor of French
Professor of French
Professor of Romance
(Programme co-ordinator)
(Steering committee)
languages, especially
Ibero-Romance languages
(Steering committee)

Organizing Committee

Inge Bartning Fanny Forsberg Lundell Margareta Lewis
Britt Erman Anna Gudmundsson
Lars Fant Kenneth Hyltenstam