Ken Hale Prize

Trechter, Sara strechter at CSUCHICO.EDU
Mon Jul 8 19:34:39 UTC 2002

Apologies for cross-posting.

Nominations solicited for the Ken Hale Prize
SSILA's Ken Hale Prize, being inaugurated this year, is presented
annually in recognition of outstanding community language work and a
deep commitment to the documentation, preservation and reclamation of
indigenous languages in the Americas.  The Prize (which carries a small
monetary stipend and is not to be confused with the LSA's Kenneth Hale
Book Award) will honor those who strive to link the academic and
community spheres in the spirit of Ken Hale, and recipients will
range from native speakers and community-based linguists to academic
specialists, and may include groups or organizations.  No academic
affiliation is necessary.

Nominations for the award may be made by anyone, and should include
a letter of nomination stating the current position and affiliation
(tribal, organizational, or academic) of the nominee or nominated group,
and a summary of the nominee's background and contributions to specific
language communities.  The nominator should also submit a brief port-
folio of supporting materials, such as the nominee's curriculum vitae,
a description of completed or on-going activities of the nominee,
letters from those who are most familiar with the work of the nominee
(e.g. language program staff, community people, academic associates),
and any other material that would support the nomination.  Submission
of manuscript-length work is discouraged.

The nomination packet should be sent to the chair of the Committee:

                        Sara Trechter
                        Linguistics Program/English Department
                        California State University, Chico
                        Chico, CA 95929-0830

Inquiries can be e-mailed to Sara Trechter at (strechter at
The deadline for receipt of nominations has been extended to October 15,

The 2002 Ken Hale Prize will be announced at the next annual meeting of
SSILA, in Atlanta, in January 2003.  The other members of this year's
selection committee are Randolph Graczyk and Nora England.

More information about the Funknet mailing list