Open call for papers and special issue proposals: English Text Construction

Lot Brems Lieselotte.Brems at
Sat Nov 20 23:10:33 UTC 2010

English Text Construction
English Text Construction (ETC) is an international journal devoted to English studies and published biannually by John Benjamins, presently in its third volume, with its current issue (3.2) a special issue devoted to “Textual choices and discourse genres: creating meaning through form” (guest-edited by Barbara Dancygier and José Sanders, with contributions by Mike Borkent, Barbara Dancygier, Vera Tobin, Lieven Vandelanotte, José Sanders, Elena Semino, Elżbieta Górska, and Carol Lynn Moder).

ETC publishes peer-reviewed papers in the different areas of English studies – literary studies, linguistics and applied linguistics/ELT – and aims to promote crossfertilization and synergy between these domains in the study of subject and text. Because of this focus, approaches within functional, cognitive and constructional approaches to language naturally fall within the purview of ETC.

Authors interested in submitting a paper to ETC can send their submission to the managing editor at keith.carlon at<mailto:keith.carlon at>. Expressions of interest to guest-edit a special issue are welcome at the same address; potential guest editors should bear in mind that an ETC special issue should explicitly address at least two out of its three broad areas of interest, viz. literary studies, linguistics, and applied linguistics/ELT.

The full text of ETC’s aims and scope and tables of contents of the first three volumes are available from the Benjamins website at Editorial information is included below.

Editors (as of vol. 4, 2011)

Gaëtanelle Gilquin, University of Louvain (applied linguistics/ELT editor)
David Pascoe, Utrecht University (literary studies editor)
Lieven Vandelanotte, University of Namur (linguistics editor)

Managing Editor

Keith Carlon, University of Louvain

Editorial Board

Karin Aijmer, University of Göteborg
Johan van der Auwera, University of Antwerp
Claire Connolly, University of Cardiff
Amy Cook, Indiana University
Barbara Dancygier, University of British Columbia
Kristin Davidse, University of Leuven
Catherine Emmott, University of Glasgow
Roberta Facchinetti, University of Verona
Lynne Flowerdew, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Robert Fulton, University of Texas, Austin
David Glover, University of Southampton
David Hayman, University of Wisconsin
Ton Hoenselaars, University of Utrecht
Ken Hyland, University of Hong Kong
Lesley Jeffries, University of Huddersfield
Hilary Nesi, Coventry University
Caryl Phillips, Yale University
Jean-Michel Rabaté, University of Pennsylvania
Ute Römer, University of Michigan
Sam Slote, Trinity College Dublin
Tony Veale, University College Dublin

More information about the Funknet mailing list