14th International Pragmatics Conference

Verschueren Jef jef.verschueren at uantwerpen.be
Mon Feb 17 20:12:06 UTC 2014

!!! now open for submissions !!!
14th International Pragmatics Conference
Antwerp, Belgium, 26-31 July 2015
All info and call for papers at the IPrA website http://ipra.ua.ac.be (direct link: http://ipra.ua.ac.be/main.aspx?c=.CONFERENCE14&n=1468&ct=1468)
Note the deadlines:
- 1 June 2014 deadline for panel proposals
- 15 October 2014, deadline for panel contributions, lectures, and posters
Please read the instructions in the ´Call for papers<http://ipra.ua.ac.be/main.aspx?c=.CONFERENCE14&n=1473>´ carefully well in advance of the deadlines.
The special theme of this edition is Language and adaptability. The notion of  adaptability is meant to capture a perspective on pragmatics that highlights language as a variable and dynamic resource for human communicative behavior. It covers a focus on the dynamic interplay between structural choices and context in the everyday practice of interactional language use, conversational or otherwise, private or public, informal or institutional. It also addresses the societal functioning of everyday language use in the wider context of linguistic diversity and change. (For more information, see 'Theme<http://ipra.ua.ac.be/main.aspx?c=.CONFERENCE14&n=1475>' on the website.)
As always, the conference is open to ALL OTHER PRAGMATICS-RELATED TOPICS as well (where pragmatics is conceived broadly as a cognitive, social, and cultural perspective on language and communication).

  *   Walter Daelemans<http://www.clips.uantwerpen.be/~walter/home.html> (University of Antwerp)
  *   Gabriele Diewald<http://www.gabrielediewald.de/startseite.html> (Leibniz universität Hannover)
  *   Jürgen Jaspers<http://homepages.ulb.ac.be/~jujasper/> (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
  *   Salikoko Mufwene<http://mufwene.uchicago.edu/%20> (University of Chicago)
  *   Kiki Nikiforidou<http://en.enl.uoa.gr/human-resources/professorial-staff/language-and-linguistics/nikiforidou-vassiliki0.html> (University of Athens)
  *   Gunter Senft<http://www.mpi.nl/people/senft-gunter> (Max Planck Institute, Nijmegen)
  *   Tanya Stivers<http://www.sociology.ucla.edu/professors/TANYA%20JEAN%20STIVERS/?id=55%20> (University of California at Los Angeles)
Two more to be added soon.
LOCAL SITE COMMITTEE: The other members of the Local Site Committee are:  Frank BRISARD (Antwerp), Liesbeth DEGAND (Louvain-la-Neuve), Alex HOUSEN (Brussels) Hubert CUYCKENS (Leuven), Walter DE MULDER (Antwerp), Patrick DENDALE (Antwerp), Sigurd D'HONDT (Ghent), Michael MEEUWIS (Ghent), Steven GILLIS (Antwerp), Stef SLEMBROUCK (Ghent), Johan VAN DER AUWERA (Antwerp), Dieter VERMANDERE (Antwerp)
INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE COMMITTEE: In addition to the members of the Local Site Committee, the International Conference Committee includes: Keiko ABE (Tokyo, Japan), Charles ANTAKI (Loughborough, UK), Josie BERNICOT (Poitiers, France), Rukmini BHAYA NAIR (New Delhi, India), Winnie CHENG (Hong Kong, China), Helmut GRUBER (Vienna, Austria), Jenny COOK-GUMPERZ (Santa Barbara, USA),  Anita FETZER (Augsburg, Germany), Sachiko IDE (Tokyo, Japan), Cornelia ILIE (Malmö, Sweden), Dennis KURZON (Haifa, Israel), Sophia MARMARIDOU (Athens, Greece), Luisa MARTÍN ROJO (Madrid, Spain), Yoshiko MATSUMOTO (Stanford, USA), Bonnie McELHINNY (Toronto, Canada), Jacob MEY (Odense, Denmark), Maj-Britt MOSEGAARD HANSEN (Manchester, UK), Neal NORRICK (Saarbrücken, Germany), Jan-Ola ÖSTMAN (Helsinki, Finland), Tuija VIRTANEN (Abo, Finland), John WILSON (Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK)
Venue: Buildings K and R of the City Campus (Stadscampus) of the University of Antwerp<https://www.uantwerpen.be/images/uantwerpen/container1161/files/Kaartpdf_stadscampus.pdf>, Belgium.

More information about the Funknet mailing list