CfP: 5th Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution Colloquium (DAARC2004)

Antonio Branco Antonio.Branco at
Tue Dec 16 06:22:28 EST 2003

                [apologies for cross-posting]

                  **FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS**

              The 5th International Conference on
           Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution

               hosted by the University of Azores
                   September 23 - 24, 2004

Following the success of the previous international colloquia
on Discourse Anaphora and Anaphor Resolution at Lancaster
in 1996, 1998 and 2000, and Lisbon in 2002, the next colloquium
in the series will take place in S. Miguel, Portugal, in 2004.

DAARC2004 aims to continue the trend set by the previous DAARC
events, which brought together a wide variety of research on
discourse anaphora and anaphor resolution. Our goal will be
to review this diverse field and consider the results obtained
in recent years.

The DAARC2004 colloquium will be held on the 23-24th September
2004 in Azores. The working sessions will take place at Terra
Nostra Garden Hotel, located near to a superb botanical garden,
in the small village of Furnas, in the Furnas valley, a crater
of an extinct volcano. Furnas is known for its geysers, many of
them right in the center of the village. This village is located
in São Miguel Island, the largest island of Azores archipelago,
known for the untouched beauty of its ever green landscape,
with several lagoons in extinct craters.

We would like to invite anyone currently researching in the
areas of discourse, anaphora and anaphor resolution, from any
methodological perspective or framework, to submit a paper for
DAARC2004. The closing date for submission is 15/3/04. Notification
of acceptance will be sent by 3/5/04. Selected papers are
expected by 31/5/02 to be included in the proceedings.

Please send an anonymous abstract of no more than 2 pages,
together with a separate identification page with Name(s) and
Affiliation(s) of the author(s) and with the phone number and
email address of the contact person, to the DAARC2004 organisers
at the following email address: daarc2004 at

Organizing committee:

António Branco (Univ Lisbon)
Tony McEnery (Lancaster Univ)
Ruslan Mitkov (Univ Wolverhampton)
with Luís Gomes (Univ Azores)

Program committee:

Amit Bagga, Avaya Inc.
Peter Bosch, Univ Osnabrueck
António Branco, Univ Lisbon
Donna Byron, Ohio State Univ
Francis Cornish, Univ Toulouse-Le Mirail
Dan Cristea, Univ Iasi
Richard Evans, Univ Wolverhampton
Martin Everaert, OTS
Claire Gardent, LORIA
Jeanette Gundel, Univ Minnesota
Sanda Harabagiu, Univ Texas at Dallas
Graeme Hirst, Univ Toronto
Yan Huang, Univ Reading
Andrew Kehler, Univ California, San Diego
Rodger Kibble, Univ London
Andrej Kibrik, Russian Academy of Sciences
Emiel Krahmer, Tilburg Univ
Shalom Lappin, King's College
Tony McEnery, Lancaster Univ
Ruslan Mitkov, Univ Wolverhampton
Maria Mercedes Pinango, Yale Univ
Massimo Poesio, Univ Essex
Georgiana Puscasu, Univ Wolverhampton
Eric Reuland, OTS
Marco Rocha, Univ Federal de Santa Catarina
Antonio Fernandez Rodriguez, Univ Alacant
Tony Sanford, Glasgow Univ,
Roland Stuckardt, Univ Frankfurt am Main
Renata Vieira, Unisinos

More information about the HPSG-L mailing list