CFP System Demonstrations: EACL 2012 Workshop on Computational Models of Language Acquisition and Loss

avillavicencio at avillavicencio at
Wed Feb 22 20:39:14 EST 2012

                Call for System Demonstrations
                EACL 2012 Workshop on
   Computational Models of Language Acquisition and Loss

                   April 24, 2012

                  Avignon, France

Deadline for Submissions: February, 29th, 2012

The past decades have seen a massive expansion in the application of
statistical and machine learning methods to speech and natural
language processing. Recently researchers have begun to investigate
the relevance of computational learning methods for research on human
language  acquisition and loss, boosted by advances in machine learning
techniques, and the availability of resources like corpora of child and
child-directed  sentences, and data from psycholinguistic tasks by normal
and pathological groups.

We invite submissions describing systems and resources on, but not limited to,
the following topics:

*Tools for supporting investigation of human language processes
*Corpora of language acquisition or language loss data
*Frameworks for cognitively oriented language processing
*Computational methods for acquiring various linguistic information
   (related to e.g. speech, lexicon, syntax, and semantics)
*Supervised, unsupervised and weakly-supervised methods for learning
(e.g. machine learning, statistical, symbolic, biologically-inspired,
active learning,
   various hybrid models)

The workshop is targeted at anyone interested in the relevance of
techniques for understanding first, second and  bilingual language acquisition
and change or loss in normal and pathological conditions.


   * Systems and Resources demonstrations (2 pages + 1 page for references):

   describing and documenting the demonstrated system or resources. We
   encourage the demonstration of both early research prototypes and
   mature systems and resources, that will be presented in a separate
demo session.

All submissions must be in PDF format and must follow the EACL
2012 formatting requirements (available at
We strongly advise the use of the provided Word or LaTeX template

Submission and reviewing will be electronic, managed by the START system:

Submissions must be uploaded onto the START system by the submission deadline:

    February 29, 2012 (11:59pm Samoa Time; UTC/GMT -11 hours)


February 29, 2012    Submission deadline
March 4, 2012    Notification of acceptance
April 24, 2012      Workshop


Afra Alishahi, Tilburg University (Netherlands)
Colin J Bannard, University of Texas at Austin (USA)
Marco Baroni, University of Trento (Italy)
Jim Blevins, University of Cambridge (UK)
Rens Bod, University of Amsterdam (Netherlands)
Antal van den Bosch, Tilburg University (Netherlands)
Alexander Clark,  Royal Holloway, University of London (UK)
Robin Clark, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
Matthew W. Crocker, Saarland University (Germany)
James Cussens, University of York (UK)
Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp (Belgium) and Tilburg
University (Netherlands)
Barry Devereux, University of Cambridge (UK)
Sonja Eisenbeiss, University of Essex (UK)
Afsaneh Fazly, University of Toronto (Canada)
Cynthia Fisher, University of Illinois (USA)
Jeroen Geertzen, University of Cambridge (UK)
Henriette Hendriks, University of Cambridge (UK)
Marco Idiart, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)
Aravind Joshi, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
Shalom Lappin, King's College London (UK)
Alessandro Lenci, University of Pisa (Italy)
Igor Malioutov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
Marie-Catherine de Marneffe, Stanford University (USA)
Fanny Meunier, Lumi?re Lyon 2 University (France)
Brian Murphy, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Maria Alice Parente, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)
Massimo Poesio, University of Essex (UK)
Brechtje Post, University of Cambridge (UK)
Ari Rappoport, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Israel)
Dan Roth, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
Kenji Sagae, University of Southern California (USA)
Sabine Schulte im Walde, University of Stuttgart (Germany)
Ekaterina Shutova, University of Cambridge (UK)
Maity Siqueira, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)
Mark Steedman, University of Edinburgh (UK)
Shuly Wintner, University of Haifa (Israel)
Charles Yang, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
Beracah Yankama, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
Menno van Zaanen, Tilburg University (Netherlands)
Michael Zock, LIF, CNRS,  Marseille (France)


Robert Berwick, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
Anna Korhonen, University of Cambridge (UK)
Thierry Poibeau, LaTTiCe-CNRS (France) and University of Cambridge (UK)
Aline Villavicencio, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil) and
   Massachussets Institute of Technology (USA)

For any inquiries regarding the workshop please send an email
to cognitivemodels2012 at

This message was sent using IMP, the Internet Messaging Program.

More information about the HPSG-L mailing list