[HPSG-L] 2nd Call for papers: semantic annotation workshop at COLING

Harry Bunt Harry.Bunt at uvt.nl
Wed Apr 18 16:13:35 EDT 2018



      14th Joint ACL - ISO Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation

          at COLING 2018, Santa Fé, New Mexico, USA, 20-25 August 2018

ISA-14 is the fourteenth edition of a series of joint workshops of the ACL Special Interest Group in Semantics (SIGSEM) and the International Organisation for Standardisation ISO. The first workshop in this series took part in conjunction with the IWCS 2003 conference in Tilburg (Netherlands); the latest editions were held as part of the LREC conference in Portoroz (Slovenia), 2016 (ISA-12) and the IWCS conference 2017 in Montpellier (France), September 2017 (ISA-13).

ISA-workshops bring together experts in the annotation of semantic information as expressed in text, speech, gestures, graphics, video, images, and in communicative behaviour where multiple modalities are combined. Examples of semantic annotation include the markup of events, time, space, dialogue acts, discourse relations, semantic roles, coreference, and named entities, for which the ISO organisation pursues the establishment and exploitation of standardised annotation methods and representation schemes in order to support the creation of interoperable semantic resources.

Topics for submissions include, but are not limited to:

* methodological aspects of semantic annotation
* integration of semantic annotation and other linguistic annotations
* considerations for merging annotations of distinct phenomena
* use of multiple levels of annotation
* semantic annotation, interpretation, and inferencing
* levels of granularity in annotation schemes
* use of context in semantic annotation procedures
* uncertainty and ambiguity in semantic annotations
* semantic annotation and ontologies
* comparison of semantic annotation schemes
* evaluation metrics and strategies for semantic annotation
* evaluation of semantic annotations
* experiments in semantic annotation
* applications of semantic annotation
* best practices for semantic annotation procedures
* application and evaluation of standards for semantic annotation
* language- or application-specific aspects of semantic annotation
* issues in the annotation of specific domains of semantic information, such as:
 - events, states, processes, circumstances, facts
 - relations in discourse and dialogue
 - time and space
 - modality,  polarity and factuality,
 - quantification and modification
 - coreference relations
 - semantic roles and predicate-argument structures
 - reference and named entities
 - attribution, attitudes, and sentiment

Three types of submission are invited:

- Research papers, describing original research in the area of semantic annotation; these can be either long (6-8 pages,
  not including references) or short (3-4 pages, not including references);
- Project notes, describing recent, ongoing or planned projects involving semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references;
- Demonstration notes, accompanying demonstration of software tools to support manual semantic annotation, or systems
   for automatic semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references),

Submission of papers is through the ISA-14 submission site, which is now open: https://www.softconf.com/coling2018/ws-ISA-14/
Submissions should be formatted in the same way as those to the COLING 2018 conference (http://coling2018.org), using the COLING 2018 templates.
These are provided in LaTeX and MS Word, and can be downloaded from http://coling2018.org/second-call-for-papers/

Harry Bunt (chair)
Nancy Ide
Kiyong Lee
James Pustejovsky
Laurent Romary

Jan Alexandersson
Ron Artstein
Harry Bunt (chair)
Nicoletta Calzolari
Jae-Woong Choe
Robin Cooper
Thierry Declerck
David DeVault
Liesbeth Degand
Jens Edlund
Alex Fang
Robert Gaizauskas
Jan Hajic
Koiti Hasida
Elisabetta Jezek
Simon Keizer
Kiyong Lee
Adam Meyers
Philippe Muller
Malvina Nissim
Patrizia Paggio
Silvia Pareti
Volha Petukhova
Massimo Poesio
James Pustejovsky
Ines Rehbein
Laurent Romary
Merel Scholman
Manfred Stede
Matthew Stone
Thorsten Trippel
Carl Vogel
Piek Vossen
Menno van Zaanen
Annie Zaenen
Heike Zinsmeister
Sandrine Zufferey


May 25, 2018:       Deadline for submitting papers
June 25, 2018:      Notification of acceptance
August 1, 2018:     Submission of camera-ready papers

For more information see the workshop page at https://sigsem.uvt.nl/isa14/ or contact the workshop chair Harry Bunt (harry.bunt at uvt.nl<mailto:harry.bunt at uvt.nl>)

-------------- next part --------------

More information about the HPSG-L mailing list