LINGUIST List Daily Summary for Fri Oct 05 2007

LINGUIST Network linguist at LINGUISTLIST.ORG
Sat Oct 6 03:50:22 UTC 2007


LINGUIST List Summary: Issues Posted on Fri Oct 05 2007.

Moderators: Anthony Aristar, Eastern Michigan U. <aristar at linguistlist.org>
            Helen Aristar-Dry, Eastern Michigan U. <hdry at linguistlist.org>
 
Reviews (reviews at linguistlist.org) 
        Randall Eggert 

Homepage: http://linguistlist.org/

==================================================================
The LINGUIST List is funded by Eastern Michigan University, 
and donations from subscribers and publishers.
==================================================================

Use the URL given after a heading to retrieve the issue via the
World Wide Web.

18.2900, Jobs: Phonetics: Assistant Professor, Rutgers University

  1) From:      Phonetics/Psycholinguistics Search Committee < lingsrch at rci.rutgers.edu >
     Subject:   Phonetics: Assistant Professor, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ, USA

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2900.html


18.2901, Jobs: Translation Studies: Director, Center/Translation Studies, UIUC

  1) From:      Marita Romine < mromine at uiuc.edu >
     Subject:   Translation Studies: Director, Center for Translation Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2901.html


18.2902, Media: Brasilia Governor Bans Verb Form

  1) From:      Lowell Winterbottom < lowbottom at gmail.com >
     Subject:   Brasilia Governor Bans Verb Form

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2902.html


18.2903, Media: Linguistics Ig Nobel Prize

  1) From:      Peter Hendriks < peter.hendriks at anu.edu.au >
     Subject:   Linguistics Ig Nobel Prize

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2903.html


18.2904, All: This week's LINGUIST Notice Board

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2904.html


18.2905, Diss: Lang Acq/Lexicography/Pragmatics/Translation: Sacia: 'The Tra...'

  1) From:      Laura Sacia < laurasacia at gmail.com >
     Subject:   The Translation of 'You': an examination of German, Portuguese, and Vietnamese address systems and their treatment in dictionaries and L2 learning materials

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2905.html


18.2906, Disc: Perceptions of Limits on Ad Hominem Argument

  1) From:      Ron Sheen < ronsheen at mailme.ae >
     Subject:   Perceptions of Limits on Ad Hominem Argument

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2906.html


18.2907, Calls: Discourse AnalysisText/Corpus Ling/Italy; General Ling/USA

  1) From:      Lawrence Berlin < L-Berlin at neiu.edu >
     Subject:   Word Meaning in Argumentative Dialogue

  2) From:      Kris Rees < aces at indiana.edu >
     Subject:   15th Annual Central Eurasian Studies Conference

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2907.html


18.2908, Calls: Applied Ling/Spain; Computational Ling,Neuroling/USA

  1) From:      Gemma Martínez < iuladocum at upf.edu >
     Subject:   Congreso Internacional de Neología en las lenguas románicas

  2) From:      Michael Putnam < mputnam at cn.edu >
     Subject:   Exploring Crash-Proof Grammars

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2908.html


18.2909, Calls: General Ling/Belgium; General Ling/Norway

  1) From:      Bart Defrancq < bart.defrancq at hogent.be >
     Subject:   Between Discourse and Grammar

  2) From:      Wiebke Ramm < wiebke.ramm at ilos.uio.no >
     Subject:   Multidisciplinary Approaches to Discourse 2008

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2909.html


18.2910, Calls: Lang Acquisition/Turkey; Computational Ling,Lexicography/Spain

  1) From:      Sara Howard < s.howard at sheffield.ac.uk >
     Subject:   12th Meeting of ICPLA

  2) From:      Catherine Havasi < havasi at gmail.com >
     Subject:   Common Sense Knowledge and Goal-Oriented Interfaces

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2910.html


18.2911, Jobs: Pidgin; Creole & Sociolinguistics: Asst Prof, Dartmouth College

  1) From:      Ioana Chitoran < Ioana.chitoran at Dartmouth.edu >
     Subject:   Pidgin; Creole & Sociolinguistics: Asst Prof, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH, USA

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2911.html


18.2912, Jobs: French Lang & Ling: Visiting Instructor, Cleveland State U

  1) From:      Tiffany Hawkins < tiffany.hawkins at tmp.com >
     Subject:   French Language & Linguistics: Visiting Instructor, Cleveland State University, OH, USA

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2912.html


18.2913, Jobs: Sociophonetics: Research Assistants, University of York

  1) From:      Dominic Watt < dw539 at york.ac.uk >
     Subject:   Sociophonetics: Research Assistants, University of York, Heslington, York, United Kingdom

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2913.html


18.2914, Jobs: Sociolinguistics: Researcher, University of Aberdeen

  1) From:      Scott Caithness < Scaithness at barkers-scot.com >
     Subject:   Sociolinguistics: Researcher, University of Aberdeen, Scotland, Sociolinguistics: Researcher, University of Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2914.html


18.2915, FYI: Carlota S. Smith Memorial Fellowship

  1) From:      Richard Meier < rmeier at mail.utexas.edu >
     Subject:   Carlota S. Smith Memorial Fellowship

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2915.html


18.2916, Books: Philosophy of Lang/Cognitive Science/Semantics: Hinzen

  1) From:      Jennifer Clark < jennifer.clark at oup.com >
     Subject:   An Essay on Names and Truth: Hinzen

   http://linguistlist.org/issues/18/18-2916.html



More information about the Linglite mailing list