23.26, FYI: Call for Nominations - Karen Sp=?utf-8?Q?=C3=A4rck_?=Jones Award

Tue Jan 3 19:42:48 UTC 2012

LINGUIST List: Vol-23-26. Tue Jan 03 2012. ISSN: 1069 - 4875.

Subject: 23.26, FYI: Call for Nominations - Karen Spärck Jones Award

Moderators: Anthony Aristar, Eastern Michigan U <aristar at linguistlist.org>
            Helen Aristar-Dry, Eastern Michigan U <hdry at linguistlist.org>

Reviews: Veronika Drake, U of Wisconsin-Madison
Monica Macaulay, U of Wisconsin-Madison
Rajiv Rao, U of Wisconsin-Madison
Joseph Salmons, U of Wisconsin-Madison
Anja Wanner, U of Wisconsin-Madison
       <reviews at linguistlist.org>

Homepage: http://linguistlist.org

The LINGUIST List is funded by Eastern Michigan University,
and donations from subscribers and publishers.

Editor for this issue: Brent Miller <brent at linguistlist.org>

To post to LINGUIST, use our convenient web form at


Date: 23-Dec-2011
From: Ayse Goker [ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk]
Subject: Call for Nominations - Karen Spärck Jones Award

-------------------------Message 1 ---------------------------------- 
Date: Tue, 03 Jan 2012 14:42:24
From: Ayse Goker [ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk]
Subject: Call for Nominations - Karen Spärck Jones Award

E-mail this message to a friend:
Call for Nominations
BCS / BCS IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award
An Award to Commemorate Karen Spärck Jones

The British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group 
(BCS IRSG) in conjunction with the BCS has created an award to 
commemorate the achievements of Karen Spärck Jones.

Karen was a Professor Emeritus of Computers and Information at the 
University of Cambridge and one of the most remarkable women in 
computer science. Her contributions to the fields of Information 
Retrieval (IR) and Natural Language Processing (NLP), especially with 
regard to experimentation, have been outstanding and highly 
influential. Karen's achievements resulted in her receiving a number of 
prestigious accolades such as the BCS Lovelace medal, for her 
advancement in Information Systems, and the ACM Salton Award for 
her significant, sustained and continuing contributions to research in 
information retrieval.

In order to honour Karen's achievements, the BCS/BCS-IRSG has 
established an annual award to encourage and promote talented 
researchers who have endeavoured to advance our understanding of 
Information Retrieval and Natural Language Processing with significant 
experimental contributions.

To celebrate the commemorative event, the recipient of the award will 
be invited to present a keynote lecture at the BCS-IRSG's annual 
conference - the European Conference in Information Retrieval (ECIR). 
This forum provides an excellent venue to present and announce the 
award as the conference attracts many new and younger researchers.

The recipient will also be presented with a prize consisting of a 
certificate, a trophy and a cash prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel 
to ECIR.

BCS/BCS-IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award:

Eligibility: Open to all IR/NLP researchers, who have no more than 10 
years' post doctoral or equivalent experience.

Criteria: To have endeavoured to advance our understanding of IR 
and/or NLP through experimentation.

Nominations: The following should be provided:
- name of nominee, position, affiliation, years since completing PhD;
- name of person proposing the nominee, position, and affiliation;
- a short case for the award (composed of a short description of why 
the individual should receive the award);
- a short description of what contributions the individual has made;
- a list of the individual's top five publications reflecting the relevant
contributions, and role within these. Please note that the nomination 
text should not exceed 2500 words.

- Additionally, two supporting letters (i.e. reference letters) from people 
who would like to encourage/support the nomination must be provided, 
along with their contact details. Please note that the person preparing 
the nomination case should submit these letters along with the 
nomination in this year's process.

Nominations should be emailed to the contact below, and seek 
confirmation of receipt. It is advisable that you notify us as soon as 
possible of an intention to nominate an individual as this will help with 
planning. It is possible for individuals to nominate themselves, though 
this is less encouraged - as in the least, this will mean there is one less 
person supporting the nomination case.

Award Panel: The Panel Chair, appointed by the BCS IRSG Committee, 
will invite panel members from amongst representatives of the BCS 
main council, the BCS-IRSG Committee, sponsoring organisation(s), as 
well as at least two experts appointed by the BCS-IRSG committee and 
the Awards Coordinator of the BCS-IRSG.

Prize: The recipient of the award will receive a certificate, a trophy, a 
cash prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel to ECIR to present the 
keynote lecture.

Presentation: The recipient of the award is expected to give a keynote 
lecture at ECIR when he/she will also be presented with their trophy, 
and cash prize.

Timeline (for the 2011 Award to be presented in 2012):
20 April, 2011 - Call for nominations.
20 January, 2012 - Deadline for nominations.
31 January, 2012 - Notification of the prize winner.
1-5 April, 2012 - Winner presents keynote at ECIR.

Sponsors: Currently, the award is being sponsored by the BCS IRSG 
and Microsoft Research Cambridge.

Contact: Ayse Göker, ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk

Dr. Ayse Goker
Centre for Interactive Systems Research
Department of Information Science
School of Informatics
City University
Northampton Square
London EC1V OHB
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 207040 8389
Email:ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk

Linguistic Field(s): Computational Linguistics


LINGUIST List: Vol-23-26	

More information about the Linguist mailing list