India: Development of Languages

Harold Schiffman hfsclpp at
Thu Nov 6 15:43:32 UTC 2008

Development of Languages

In India, the following schemes are being run by the Government all
over the country for the development of languages:

1.       Central Hindi Directorate (CHD), is a subordinate office
responsible to  promote and propagate Hindi and to develop it as a
link language throughout India in pursuance of Article 351 of the
Constitution of India. The Directorate implements the  schemes of
publication of bilingual/trilingual dictionaries, correspondence
courses, awards to Hindi writers, extension services and programmes,
Hindi through cassettes etc

2.       Commission for Scientific and Technical Terminology(CSTT),
is a subordinate office established as per the recommendation of a
Committee constituted under the provisions of Clause (4) of Article
344 of the Constitution. The Commission is engaged  in the task of
evolving technical terms in Hindi and Indian languages, producing of
University level books, definitional  dictionaries and various
reference literatures.

3.       Kendriya Hindi Sansthan (KHS), a fully funded autonomous
organization  responsible for the propagation and expansion of the use
of Hindi and its  teaching in non-Hindi States through training of
in-service Hindi teachers.

4.       National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language (NCPUL), a
fully funded autonomous organization to promote Urdu Language.

5.       National Council for Promotion of Sindhi Language (NCPSL),
to develop, promote and propagate the Sindhi language.

6.       Central Institute of Indian Languages(CIIL), a subordinate
office to help evolve/implement the Language Policy of Government  of
India and coordinate the development of Indian languages by conducting
research in the areas of language analysis, language pedagogy,
language technique  and language use in society.

7.       Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan  (RSkS), a Deemed University(with
10 Campuses)  with the objectives of preserving, propagating and
modernizing traditional learning and research in Sanskrit.

8.       Maharishi Sandipani Rashtriya Ved Vidya Pratishthan (MSRVVP),
Ujjain an autonomous organization established for the preservation,
conservation and development of Vedic Studies through establishing and
supporting Ved Pathshalas.

9.       The Scheme of  "Appointment of Language Teachers" provides
100% grant to State Governments for three distinct components i.e.

(a)     Salaries for Hindi Teachers in schools in non-Hindi speaking states.

(b)     Salaries of Urdu Teachers in State Government schools in those
blocks/districts that have a significant educationally backward
minority/ population.

(c)     Under the Modern Indian Language component, salaries are born
for any teacher of any of the languages listed in the 8th schedule of
the Constitution (other than the mother tongue/official language/first
language of the State) that is taught as the third language.

This is a demand  driven scheme and funds are released on the basis of
requirements projected by the State Governments.

10. Development of Classical Tamil Language.  The scheme includes the
following  components.

(a)            Certificate of honour to distinguished scholars of
Classical Tamil Language.

(b)            Tamil Language Promotion Board.

(c)            Centre of Excellence for Development of Classical Tamil
Language at Central Institute of Indian Languages, Mysore.

(d)            Fellowships for study of Tamil as a Classical Language.
N.b.: Listing on the lgpolicy-list is merely intended as a service to
its members
and implies neither approval, confirmation nor agreement by the owner
or sponsor of
the list as to the veracity of a message's contents. Members who
disagree with a
message are encouraged to post a rebuttal. (H. Schiffman, Moderator)

More information about the Lgpolicy-list mailing list