[lg policy] India: Prime Minister to Chair Kendriya Hindi Samiti Meeting Tomorrow

Harold Schiffman hfsclpp at GMAIL.COM
Fri Jul 29 17:21:38 UTC 2011

PM to Chair Kendriya Hindi Samiti Meeting Tomorrow

Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan singh will chair the 30th Meeting of the
(KHS) here tomorrow. Kendriya Hindi Samiti is the apex level body for
providing macro-level guidance in policy formulation and for
overseeing the implementation of policy decisions by ensuring
inter-Ministerial and inter-Departmental coordination for the
implementation of Official Language Policy, the Official Language
being Hindi. The Home Minister is the Vice-Chairman of the Committee.
The Minister of State, MHA is a Member of this body.

The Committee is scheduled to deliberate on the status of
implementation by various Ministries and Departments of the
President’s Orders passed in the light of recommendations made by the
Committee of Parliament on Official Language (CPOL) in eight out of
the nine Parts of its Report on which such Orders have so far been
passed. The CPOL submitted Ninth Part of its Report to the President
of India on June 1, 2011. Among other items of importance, the
Committee will also discuss the strategy for recognition of Hindi as
one of the languages for use in the UNO. Efforts have been underway in
this regard for quite some time now.

Among the other major issues slated for discussion are opening of
Hindi Departments in the Universities of the country, particularly the
ones in receipt of UGC grant, and the Central Universities; teaching
of Hindi up to a certain minimum level in schools; use of
trilingual/bilingual computer software by organisations offering
public services for convenience of the common man; expediting the
filling up of Hindi posts through UPSC and Staff Selection Commission;
and cushioning the creation of Hindi posts as per norms, and the
filling up of vacant Hindi posts without being subjected to the
rigours of matching savings.

The Committee has 41 Members in all, including six Ministers heading
Ministries of External Affairs, Human Resource Development,
Communications & IT, Railways, Information & Broadcasting and
Department of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pension. As per the
practice, Chief Ministers of six States, two each from Regions ‘A’,
‘B’ and ‘C’ respectively (regions referring to the three broad
linguistic regions of the country) viz. Assam, Bihar, Kerala, Odisha,
Punjab and Rajasthan at present represent the State Governments’
viewpoints. The Deputy Chairman, and the Convenors of the three
Sub-Committees of the Committee of Parliament on Official Language
(CPOL) are its ex-officio Members. Twenty one eminent scholars and
litterateurs from across the country, and Secretary, Department of
Official Language, MHA are also Members of this august body.


N.b.: Listing on the lgpolicy-list is merely intended as a service to
its members
and implies neither approval, confirmation nor agreement by the owner
or sponsor of the list as to the veracity of a message's contents.
Members who disagree with a message are encouraged to post a rebuttal,
and to write directly to the original sender of any offensive message.
 A copy of this may be forwarded to this list as well.  (H. Schiffman,

For more information about the lgpolicy-list, go to

This message came to you by way of the lgpolicy-list mailing list
lgpolicy-list at groups.sas.upenn.edu
To manage your subscription unsubscribe, or arrange digest format: https://groups.sas.upenn.edu/mailman/listinfo/lgpolicy-list

More information about the Lgpolicy-list mailing list