Call for Participation: 3rd Quantitative Investigations in Theoretical Linguistics (QITL3)

Antti Arppe antti.arppe at HELSINKI.FI
Wed Apr 23 17:11:34 UTC 2008

[apologies for cross-postings]


                      Third Workshop on
Quantitative Investigations in Theoretical Linguistics (QITL3)

2-4 June, 2008
Helsinki, Finland

We would like to inform linguists of the upcoming QITL3 workshop to be
co-hosted by the Linguistic Association of Finland and the Department
of General Linguistics at the University of Helsinki. The purpose of
this workshop is to provide a forum for linguistic research which
combines a theoretical outlook with sophisticated use of quantitative
methods.  We invite interested linguists from all subfields and
theoretical persuasions to take part in this event.

Invited Talks:

Michael Cysouw, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig
Gary Marcus, New York University
Richard Sproat, University of Indiana at Urbana/Champaign

The preliminary program with the authors and titles of the accepted
presentations, registration guidelines, as well as other information
are available on the Workshop website (which will always contain the
latest up-to-date information) at:

N.B. The deadline for Registration is Monday, 5 May 2008.

Programme Committee:

Harald Baayen, University of Alberta
Marco Baroni, University of Trento/CIMeC
Peter Bosch, University of Osnabrück
Michael Cysouw, Max Planck Institute/Leipzig
Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp
Stefan Evert, University of Osnabrück
Stefan Th. Gries, University of California, Santa Barbara
Stefan Grondelaers, Radboud University Nijmegen
Jennifer Hay, University of Canterbury
Timo Honkela, Helsinki University of Technology
Juhani Järvikivi, Max Planck Institute/Nijmegen
Brigitte Krenn, Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence (ÖFAI)
Jonas Kuhn, University of Potsdam
Merja Kytö, University of Uppsala
Roger Levy, University of California, San Diego
Anke Lüdeling, Humboldt University in Berlin
Elena Maslova, Bielefeld University
Detmar Meurers, Ohio State University
Matti Miestamo, University of Helsinki
Jussi Niemi, University of Joensuu
Martti Vainio, University of Helsinki
Yi Xu, University College London

Organizing Committee:

Laura Arola, University of Oulu
Antti Arppe, University of Helsinki, co-chair
Maria Metsä-Ketelä, University of Tampere
Maarit Niemelä, University of Oulu
Alexandre Nikolaev, University of Joensuu
Urpo Nikanne, Åbo Akademi University, co-chair
Kaius Sinnemäki, University of Helsinki, co-chair
Ulla Vanhatalo, University of Helsinki

Contact information:

Contact Email: "qitl-3 at"
Meeting URL:


More information about the Lingtyp mailing list