Call: Gabelentz Award 2009

Jean-Christophe Verstraete Jean-Christophe.Verstraete at ARTS.KULEUVEN.BE
Fri Aug 22 14:39:13 UTC 2008

Georg von der Gabelentz Award 2009

At the 8th Biennial Conference in Berkeley (July 23-26 2009), the 
Association for Linguistic Typology will award its first Georg von der 
Gabelentz Award, for a grammar published between January 1st 2005 and 
December 31st 2008.

The Gabelentz Award was established to encourage and honour achievements 
in the field of documenting the world’s linguistic diversity through the 
writing of reference grammars. To be eligible, a grammar must provide a 
systematic, accessible, comprehensive, original, insightful and 
typologically well-informed account of the workings of the language 
being described, generously exemplified with natural data. Though the 
normal expectation is that it would deal with a hitherto 
little-described language, outstanding grammars of better-known 
languages or dialects thereof may also be considered if they achieve 
major breakthroughs in a comprehensive understanding of the language. 
Grammars may be written in any major language, subject to the 
availability of a sufficient and geographically balanced set of jury 
members able to read the language.

Entries will be judged by a committee of half-a-dozen or more 
distinguished linguists, including a number of judges who have 
themselves written major reference grammars but also typologists and 
other categories of grammar-readers. The chair for the 2009 award will 
be Nikolaus Himmelmann.

Any grammar published between January 1st 2005 and December 31st 2008 
will be eligible provided that it meets the conditions above and that 
the author is a member of the Association for Linguistic Typology. 
Grammars which have been submitted for the Panini Award can be submitted 
again for the Gabelentz Award provided that they have been substantially 
revised and published by an academic publisher. Grammars which win the 
Panini Award cannot be submitted at a later date for the Gabelentz 
Award. All submissions for the Gabelentz Award need to be published by 
an academic publisher.

Entries are normally submitted as a PDF file with embedded fonts. Hard 
copies can be sent in exceptional circumstances only (e.g. if the 
publisher does not agree to a PDF version being submitted or if the 
author is not in a position to make a PDF version, for whatever reason) 
and with prior agreement by the chair of the committee. The exact number 
of copies to be submitted will vary according to the size of the 
committee, but a minimum of six copies is to be expected. Submitted 
copies remain the property of the members of the jury. The deadline for 
submissions is November 30 2008.

The address for submissions for the 2009 Gabelentz Award is:

Nikolaus Himmelmann
Institut für Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Aegidiistraße 5
D-48143 Münster

Email: nikolaus.himmelmann [@]


More information about the Lingtyp mailing list