[Lingtyp] ALT's Panini Award 2015: first call

Jean-Christophe Verstraete jean-christophe.verstraete at arts.kuleuven.be
Wed Nov 12 10:21:59 UTC 2014

The Panini Award 2015

At the 11th Biennial Conference in Albuquerque (August 1-3 2015), the 
Association for Linguistic Typology will award its third Panini prize, 
for a grammar passed as a dissertation between January 1st 2011 and 
December 31st 2014. The Panini award was established to encourage and 
honour achievements in the field of documenting the world’s linguistic 
diversity through the writing of reference grammars. To be eligible, a 
grammar must provide a systematic, accessible, comprehensive, original, 
insightful and typologically well-informed account of the workings of 
the language being described, generously exemplified with natural data. 
Though the normal expectation is that it would deal with a hitherto 
little-described language, outstanding grammars of better-known 
languages or dialects thereof may also be considered if they achieve 
major breakthroughs in a comprehensive understanding of the language. 
Grammars may be written in any major language, subject to the 
availability of a sufficient and geographically balanced set of jury 
members able to read the language. In order to be eligible for the 
prize, the author must be (or become) a member of ALT.

Entries will be judged by a committee of distinguished linguists, 
including judges who have themselves written major reference grammars as 
well as typologists and other grammar-consumers. The chair for the 2015 
award is Nick Enfield.

Please submit entries as PDF files with embedded fonts. The deadline for 
submission is January 15th, 2015, at <paniniaward2015 at gmail.com>. Any 
questions about submissions should be directed to the chair, at 
<nick.enfield at sydney.edu.au>.

The prize winner for the Panini award will receive paid travel, 
accommodation, and registration at the ALT conference in Albuquerque, 
(Aug 1-3, 2015) as well as a collection of reference grammars or other 
works donated by major publishers. They will also be invited to present 
a plenary lecture setting out the typologically most interesting aspects 
of the language.

Previous winners:

2011 (tie):
Mark Post “A grammar of Galo”
Antoinette Schapper “Bunaq: A Papuan language of central Timor”

Patience Epps “A grammar of Hup”

The address for submissions for the 2015 Panini award is:

Nick Enfield
Department of Linguistics
University of Sydney
Post: N365, A20, 2006 Australia
Email: <nick.enfield at sydney.edu.au>
or: <paniniaward2015 at gmail.com>

More information about the Lingtyp mailing list