[Lingtyp] ALT Ballot for President, Secretary, and Treasurer and members of the Executive Committee

Good, Jeff jcgood at buffalo.edu
Mon Oct 14 20:16:12 UTC 2019

Dear all,

This is a reminder that the ALT Ballot will be open until October 20 for the offices of President, Secretary, and Treasurer and for openings on the Executive Committee. ALT members should plan to vote soon if they have not already.

Please see the original message below for further details.


Dear Association for Linguistic Typology members,

At the end of 2019, the ALT officers will complete four-year terms that began in 2016, and vacancies will also open up on the ALT Executive Committee. The ALT Nominating Committee, consisting of Nick Enfield (chair), Claire Bowern, Nina Dobrushina, and Martin Haspelmath, have put together a slate of nominees for these positions which can be found here:

I would like to thank the Nominating Committee on behalf of ALT for their work in putting together this list of nominees.

Members of ALT are asked to vote using the above link by October 20, after which the poll will be closed. (It will specifically be closed at 23:55, October 21, North American Central Time, to account for any complications with time zones.)

So that the ballot is clear to all members, I would like to note the following:

1. The ALT Statutes allow the Secretary and Treasurer to serve for two terms. Kristine Hildebrandt will end her service as ALT Secretary after one term, but Dmitry Idiatov has agreed to serve another term. So, the election involves the selection of a new Secretary, with the current Treasurer being considered for re-election.

2. The Nominating Committee has put forth the name of Ljuba Veselinova as Secretary. Since she is currently serving on the Executive Committee, if she is elected as Secretary, this will create a vacancy on the Executive Committee. The Nominating Committee has nominated Kristine Hildebrandt to complete the remaining two years of Ljuba Veselinova’s term on the Executive Committee. (Under this scenario, Kristine Hildebrandt and Ljuba Veselinova would, in effect, switch positions.)

Please direct any questions regarding the ballot to me at jcgood at buffalo.edu<mailto:jcgood at buffalo.edu>.

Jeff Good
President, Association for Linguistic Typology
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://listserv.linguistlist.org/pipermail/lingtyp/attachments/20191014/934ab5b8/attachment.htm>

More information about the Lingtyp mailing list