Alexis Nasr alexis.nasr at LINGUIST.JUSSIEU.FR
Thu Feb 6 13:13:33 UTC 2003


                      September 23-28, 2003
                      New Orleans, USA

                      CALL FOR PAPERS

The ninth Machine Translation Summit, organized by the International
Association for Machine Translation (IAMT) and hosted by the
Association for Machine Translation in the Americas (AMTA), will be
held in New Orleans, Louisiana, from 23 to 28 September 2003. MT
Summit IX will feature a comprehensive programme that will include
research papers, reports on users' experiences, discussions of policy
issues, invited talks, panels, exhibits, tutorials, and workshops.  We
define machine translation in the broadest possible sense, to include
not just fully automatic MT but tools for translation support and
multilingual text processing as well.

We invite all those with an interest in translation
automation-researchers, developers, translation service providers,
users, or managers-to participate in the conference.

MT Summit IX hereby invites original submissions on all aspects
machine and machine-aided translation.  The submissions must be in
English and fall into one of three categories:

* research (or theoretical) papers: maximum length 8 pages;
* user's studies (including manager's experiences): maximum length 8
* system presentations (with optional demos): maximum length 4 pages.

Electronic submissions are strongly preferred, in PDF or MS-Word
format only please.  As the reviewing process will be blind, authors
of the first two categories (research and user studies) are requested
to keep their papers anonymous.  This means that these submissions
should NOT include the author's name; rather, papers should be
identified only by their title.  In addition to the electronic file
containing their paper, authors must also submit a separate cover page
on which the name and affiliation of the author(s) do appear, along
with the title of the paper and the category of the submission.  The
two electronic files should be attached to an email and sent to the
Program Chair, Elliott Macklovitch, at the following address:

        mtix at

Note that the requirement of anonymity does not apply to system
presentations.  However, those submitting system descriptions with
demos are asked to specify on their cover page the type of equipment
they will require for their demonstration.

We will acknowledge receipt of all papers received before the deadline
and issue a submission number to each author. Please refer to that
number in all subsequent correspondence.  Anyone who is unable to make
an electronic submission is asked to contact the Program Chair.
Guidelines and style files for the preparation of the final
camera-ready copy will be made available to the authors of accepted
submissions in due time.


- May 11, 2003:        Deadline for the submission of papers
- June 30, 2003:       Notification of acceptance sent to authors
- July 31, 2003:       Camera-ready copy due
- September 23, 2003:  Conference opens

Proposals for Panels and Special Sessions:

Proposals are also invited for panel and/or special sessions on issues
of general importance to machine and machine-aided translation, which
should be the subject of public debate at MT Summit IX.  Please send
your proposals to the Program Chair and include a description of the
session theme, a justification of its importance, and the names of
some suggested speakers or panellists.

MT Summit IX Program Committee:

Glenn Akers          Hitoshi Iida         Fred Popowich
Susan Armstrong      Pierre Isabelle      Owen Rambow
Lorna Balkan         Hitoshi Isahara      Steve Richardson
Arendse Bernth       Christine Kamprath   Mohamed Shihadah
Francis Bond         Maghi King           Jörg Schütz
Pierrette Bouillon   Richard Kittredge    Harold Somers
Ralf Brown           Kevin Knight         Keh-Yih Su
F.Casacuberta        Steven Krauwer       Beth Sundheim
Jason Chang          Alon Lavie           Hozumi Tanaka
Key-Sun Choi         Lori Levin           Gregor Thurmair
Anthony Clarke       Dekang Lin           Benjamin T'sou
Ido Dagan            Bente Maegaard       Junichi Tsujii
Pernilla Danielsson  Daniel Marcu         Antonio Valderrabannos
Bonnie Dorr          Michael McCord       Enrique Vidal
Marc Dymetman        Dan Melamed          Hideo Watanabe
David Farwell        Teruko Mitamura      Andy Way
Robert Frederking    Hermann Ney          Eric Wehrli
Laurie Gerber        Sergei Nirenburg     John White
Jan Hajic            Eric Nyberg          Pete Whitelock
Walter Hartmann      Franz Och            Dekai Wu
Stephen Helmreich    Boyan Onyshkevych    David Yarowsky
Graeme Hirst         Carlos Paz           Rémi Zajac
Edouard Hovy         Jesse Pinkham
John Hutchins        André Popescu-Belis

Elliott Macklovitch
Program Chair, MT Summit IX
RALI / Université de Montréal
tel: +1 514 343-7535
fax: +1 514 343-2496

Message diffusé par la liste Langage Naturel <LN at>
Informations, abonnement :
English version          :
Archives                 :

La liste LN est parrainée par l'ATALA (Association pour le Traitement
Automatique des Langues)
Information et adhésion  :

More information about the Ln mailing list