IWPT 2011: Third and final call for papers

Kenji Sagae sagae at usc.edu
Tue Jun 28 21:18:39 EDT 2011

Third and Final Call for Papers

IWPT 2011, 12th International Conference on Parsing Technologies

October 5-7, 2011
Dublin, Ireland

Sponsored by ACL/SIGPARSE
Organized by Dublin City University

Topics of interest for IWPT 2011

IWPT 2011 invites the submission of papers on original and unpublished research
relevant to natural language parsing, including but not limited to:

- parsing of natural language (phonological, morphological, syntactic,
semantic, discourse, etc.);
- formal models and algorithms for recognition, parsing and transduction;
- complexity of languages, models and algorithms;
- learning of linguistic structure (with or without supervision);
- cognitive models of language processing;
- multilingual and multimodal perspectives on parsing;
- domain and genre adaptation, portability and robustness of parsing systems;
- practical applications of parsing technology;
- parser evaluation (across languages and frameworks)

Important Dates

Deadline for paper submission: July 18, 2011
Notification of acceptance: August 29, 2011
Final papers due: September 12, 2011
Conference: October 5-7, 2011

Conference Proceedings and Special Journal Issue

Long and short papers accepted for IWPT 2011 will be published in the conference
proceedings and the ACL Anthology. Authors of selected papers will also be
invited to submit a revised version of the paper to a special issue of the
Journal of Logic and Computation.

Submission Information

Two types of submissions are invited:

- Long papers (up to 10 pages + references) are appropriate for completed work
  with a substantial research contribution.

- Short papers (up to 4 pages + references) are appropriate for small, focused
  contributions, but also for work in progress, project notes, and
position papers.

Detailed formatting and submission instructions for authors are available at
the conference website: http://www.dcu.ie/conferences/iwpt/index.shtml.

Electronic submission is open at: https://www.softconf.com/b/iwpt2011/

Contact and Further Information

Questions concerning IWPT 2011 can be sent to iwpt2011 at computing.dcu.ie.

Additional information about IWPT 2011 can be found at

Information about previous IWPTs, proceedings, books based on IWPTs,
and SIGPARSE related
activities can be found at http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~sigparse/.

Invited Speakers

Ina Bornkessel-Schlesewsky (Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany)
Michael Collins (Columbia University, USA)
Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh, UK)


General Chair: Harry Bunt (Tilburg University, Netherlands)
Program Chair: Joakim Nivre (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Local Arrangements Chair: Ozlem Cetinoglu (Dublin City University, Ireland)

Local Arrangements Committee

Ozlem Cetinoglu (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Jennifer Foster (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Lamia Tounsi (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Deirdre Hogan (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Eithne McCann (Dublin City University, Ireland)

Program Committee

Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne, Australia)
Srinivas Bangalore (AT&T, USA)
Philippe Blache (CNRS/Provence University, France)
Harry Bunt (Tilburg University, Netherlands)
Aoife Cahill (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
John Carroll (University of Sussex, UK)
Eugene Charniak (Brown University, USA)
David Chiang (USC Information Sciences Institute, USA)
Stephen Clark (Cambridge University, UK)
Eric Villemonte de la Clergerie (INRIA, Rocquencourt, France)
Michael Collins (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Jennifer Foster (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Josef van Genabith (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Carlos Gómez-Rodríguez (University of La Coruña, Spain)
James Henderson (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Julia Hockenmaier (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Mark Johnson (Macquarie University, Australia)
Ronald Kaplan (Microsoft Corp, USA)
Martin Kay (Stanford University, USA)
Terry Koo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Sandra Kübler (Indiana University, USA)
Marco Kuhlmann (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Jonas Kuhn (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
Sadao Kurohashi (Kyoto University, Japan)
Alon Lavie (Carnegie-Mellon University, USA)
Yuji Matsumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
Ryan McDonald (Google Inc, USA)
Paola Merlo (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Yusuke Miyao (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Mark-Jan Nederhof (University of St. Andrews, UK)
Joakim Nivre (University of Uppsala, Sweden) (chair)
Stephan Oepen (University of Oslo, Norway)
Lilja Øvrelid (University of Oslo, Norway)
Gerald Penn (University of Toronto, Canada)
Slav Petrov (Google Inc, USA)
Kenji Sagae (Institute for Creative Technologies, USA)
Vijay Shanker (University of Delaware, USA)
Khalil Sima'an (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Noah Smith (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Ivan Titov (Saarland University, Germany)
Reut Tsarfaty (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Shuly Wintner (University of Haifa, Israel)
Dekai Wu (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
Yi Zhang (Saarland University, Germany)
Yue Zhang (Cambridge University, UK)

More information about the HPSG-L mailing list