17.3549, FYI: The Panini Award 2007

Fri Dec 1 17:57:38 UTC 2006

LINGUIST List: Vol-17-3549. Fri Dec 01 2006. ISSN: 1068 - 4875.

Subject: 17.3549, FYI: The Panini Award 2007

Moderators: Anthony Aristar, Eastern Michigan U <aristar at linguistlist.org>
            Helen Aristar-Dry, Eastern Michigan U <hdry at linguistlist.org>
Reviews: Laura Welcher, Rosetta Project / Long Now Foundation  
         <reviews at linguistlist.org> 

Homepage: http://linguistlist.org/

The LINGUIST List is funded by Eastern Michigan University, Wayne
State University, and donations from subscribers and publishers.

Editor for this issue: Amy Renaud <renaud at linguistlist.org>

To post to LINGUIST, use our convenient web form at


Date: 30-Nov-2006
From: Johan van der Auwera < johan.vanderauwera at ua.ac.be >
Subject: The Panini Award 2007 

-------------------------Message 1 ---------------------------------- 
Date: Fri, 01 Dec 2006 12:53:09
From: Johan van der Auwera < johan.vanderauwera at ua.ac.be >
Subject: The Panini Award 2007 

The Panini Award 2007

ALT is proud to announce the establishment of a new grammar prize to
encourage and honour achievements in the field of documenting the world's
linguistic diversity through the writing of reference grammars. To be
eligible, a grammar must provide a systematic, accessible, comprehensive,
original, insightful and typologically well-informed account of the
workings of the language being described, generously exemplified with
natural data. Though the normal expectation is that it would deal with a
hitherto little-described language, outstanding grammars of better-known
languages or dialects thereof may also be considered if they achieve major
breakthroughs in a comprehensive understanding of the language. Grammars
may be written in any major language, subject to the availability of a
sufficient and geographically balanced set of jury members able to read the

Entries will be judged by a committee of half-a-dozen distinguished
linguists, including a number of judges who have themselves written major
reference grammars but also typologists and other categories of
grammar-reader. The chair of the jury will be nominated before the
submission date by the President of the ALT, in consultation with the
Executive committee, and the chair and the president will then constitute
the jury once the full set of submissions is known.

The ALT grammar prize will be awarded every two years, with the winner
announced in time for them to present a plenary lecture or language
tutorial at the next ALT Conference, setting out the most typologically
interesting aspects of the language. 

There will be two categories of prize, on alternating four year cycles -
one, to be known as the Panini Grammar Award, for grammars written as
dissertations, and one, to be known as the Georg von der Gabelentz Grammar
Award, for published grammars.

For each category, any grammar (respectively) passed as a dissertation or
published in the four year period leading up to December 31st in the year
preceding the ALT Conference, will be eligible provided that it meets the
conditions above and that the author is a member of the ALT. Grammars which
win the Panini award cannot be submitted at a later date for the Gabelentz
award. Six copies of the entry must be submitted to the Chair of the Jury
by February 1st of the year following the four year period. In the case of
the Panini award only, entries may be submitted as a pdf file with embedded
fonts, except that submission of bound copies is preferred in the case of
countries such as the Netherlands where a form of non-commercial
publication is a requirement. Submitted copies remain the property of the
members of the jury. It will normally be the responsibility of the
applicant to cover the costs of submitting their work, but the Chair will
consider applications for assistance in the case of demonstrable financial
hardship. It is planned that the initial award would be made in 2007, in
the Dissertation category. Marianne Mithun has kindly agreed to chair the
first Panini award, and anyone wishing to be considered should send their
entries to her address:

Marianne Mithun
Dept of Linguistics
University of California at Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106

mithun at linguistics.ucsb.edu

Prize winners for the Panini award will receive a paid fare to and
accommodation and registration at the ALT conference at which they will
present their plenary, as well as a collection of reference grammars and
other works donated by major publishers in the area. Because of current
financial limitations on the ALT Budget, Prizewinners for the Gabelentz
award will not receive a paid fare to the ALT conference, but other
conditions will be identical. 

For information on the ALT (and on joining) consult:

Linguistic Field(s): General Linguistics
                     Language Description


LINGUIST List: Vol-17-3549	


More information about the Linguist mailing list