17.3550, FYI: The Joseph Greenberg Award 2007

Fri Dec 1 18:08:21 UTC 2006

LINGUIST List: Vol-17-3550. Fri Dec 01 2006. ISSN: 1068 - 4875.

Subject: 17.3550, FYI: The Joseph Greenberg Award 2007

Moderators: Anthony Aristar, Eastern Michigan U <aristar at linguistlist.org>
            Helen Aristar-Dry, Eastern Michigan U <hdry at linguistlist.org>
Reviews: Laura Welcher, Rosetta Project / Long Now Foundation  
         <reviews at linguistlist.org> 

Homepage: http://linguistlist.org/

The LINGUIST List is funded by Eastern Michigan University, Wayne
State University, and donations from subscribers and publishers.

Editor for this issue: Amy Renaud <renaud at linguistlist.org>

To post to LINGUIST, use our convenient web form at


Date: 30-Nov-2006
From: Johan van der Auwera < johan.vanderauwera at ua.ac.be >
Subject: The Joseph Greenberg Award 2007 

-------------------------Message 1 ---------------------------------- 
Date: Fri, 01 Dec 2006 12:59:57
From: Johan van der Auwera < johan.vanderauwera at ua.ac.be >
Subject: The Joseph Greenberg Award 2007 

The Association for Linguistic Typology (ALT) will be continuing its Junior
Award for the best piece of typological research embodied in a doctoral
dissertation or equivalent. The next round of these awards, to be decided
for the Paris meeting of the ALT next year, will be for a thesis accepted
between 1 January 2005 and 31 December 2006. The award will consist of
payment of travel, per diem expenses and registration fee to attend the ALT
VII Conference, to be held in Paris, September 25 to September 28, 2007,
and to present a synopsis or element of the prize-winning work as a plenary
lecture at that meeting. From 2007 this Award will be known as the Joseph
Greenberg Award, in honour of the late Joseph Greenberg's fundamental
contributions to typology and the interest he showed in encouraging young
To be eligible, those submitting their manuscript must be members of the
ALT. They are asked to submit their dissertation by email in pdf format,
with all non-standard fonts in Unicode, to the Chair of the Jury, to arrive
no later than February 1, 2007. If this proves technically difficult, the
candidate is asked to discuss the problem with the chair. 
A jury, consisting of 5 ALT members, will be appointed by ALT's President,
appropriate to the work submitted. The chair will be
Eva Schultze-Berndt 
Karl-Franzens-Universit├Ąt Graz
Merangasse 70
A-8010 Graz

Schultze-Berndt at ling.uni-graz.at

For information on the ALT (and on joining) consult:

Linguistic Field(s): Typology

LINGUIST List: Vol-17-3550	


More information about the Linguist mailing list