John Bowden john.bowden at ANU.EDU.AU
Thu Jan 3 02:58:55 UTC 2008

The 15th conference of the Austronesian Formal Linguistics Association will be held at the University of Sydney from June 30 to July 2, 2008. 

The conference will be one of a group of linguistics events being held at the University of Sydney at that time under the general name of LingFest2008 . Other events include ALI 2008, ALS 2008, LFG 2008 and ALAA 2008. 

Invited speakers:
Robert A. Blust (Hawai'i)
Mary Dalrymple (Oxford)
Elizabeth Pearce (Wellington)

Conference Website:

Call for Papers:
Call Deadline:     11-Feb-2008

Abstracts are invited for 30 minute talks (20 minute presentations + 10 minute question-and-answer period) on any aspect of the formal linguistic analysis ( e.g. language acquisition, morphology, phonology, phonetics, semantics, syntax) of any Austronesian language. Applicants are limited to only one singly-authored and one jointly-authored abstract.
Abstracts should be anonymous and should not exceed one A4 page with a 2.5cm margin on each side and in at least 12 pt. Times New Roman font. A second page should be submitted with the title of your paper and names and affiliations of authors. All material is to be submitted in .pdf. Non-standard fonts should be avoided wherever possible, and if necessary should be embedded in the .pdf document. Please indicate the subfield (Morphology, Phonology, Syntax, etc.) to which you consider your abstract belongs at the bottom of the first page. 
Abstracts are to be submitted online, beginning December 17, 2007, on the AFLA 15 website. Please follow the ''Proposal Submission'' link and follow the instructions there. Note that you have to register as a user before it is possible to submit your abstract, and that you must supply a text-only version of the abstract on the web form in addition to uploading a .pdf version. Only abstracts uploaded before the final deadline at the conference website and only those following the guidelines specified above will be accepted. 

Submission Deadline: 23:59 Aus EST (GMT +10:00) on February 11, 2008

Notification of acceptance: March 31, 2008

Organising Committee:
Mark Donohue (Monash)
Simon Musgrave (Monash)
Wayan Arka (ANU) 
Jeremy Hammond (Sydney)
Jane Simpson (Sydney - LingFest2008 Liaison) 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <>
-------------- next part --------------
An-lang mailing list
An-lang at

More information about the An-lang mailing list