I Wayan Arka wayan.arka at ANU.EDU.AU
Wed Dec 14 22:30:10 UTC 2011

Call for Papers

The 17th International Lexical Functional Grammar Conference (LFG12)
28 June - 1 July 2012
Udayana University, Bali, Indonesia

Conference website:
Conference e-mail (NOT for abstract submission):  lfg2012 "at"
Abstract submission receipt deadline:  15 February 2012, 11:59 pm GMT
Abstracts should be submitted online using the online submission system at

LFG 2012 welcomes work within the formal architecture of
Lexical-Functional Grammar as well as typological, formal, and
computational work within the 'spirit of LFG' as a lexicalist approach to
language employing a parallel, constraint-based framework. The conference
aims to promote interaction and collaboration among researchers interested
in non-derivational approaches to grammar, where grammar is seen as the
interaction of (perhaps violable) constraints from multiple levels of
structuring, including those of syntactic categories, grammatical
relations, semantics and discourse.

Further information about LFG as a syntactic theory is available at the
following sites:

The main conference sessions will involve 45-minute talks (30 min. + 15
min. discussion), and poster/system presentations. Contributions can focus
on results from completed as well as ongoing research, with an emphasis on
novel approaches, methods, ideas, and perspectives, whether descriptive,
theoretical, formal or computational. Presentations should describe
original, unpublished work.

As in previous years, we are hoping to hold a special session that will
give students the chance to present recent PhD dissertations (or other
student research dissertations). The dissertations must be completed by
the time of the conference, and they should be made publicly accessible
(e.g., on the World Wide Web). The talks in this session should provide an
overview of the main original points of the dissertation; the talks will
be 20 minutes, followed by a 10-minute discussion period. The
International LFG Association (ILFGA) will pay the conference fees for the
students presenting at the dissertation session.

Students should note that the main sessions are certainly also open to
student submissions.

Deadline for abstracts:  15 February, 2012
Acceptances sent out:  30 March, 2012
Conference:     28 June - 1 July, 2012

Abstracts for talks, posters/demonstrations and the dissertation
session must be received by February 15, 2012. The language of the
conference is English, and all abstracts must be written in English.
All abstracts should be submitted using the online submission
system. Submissions should be in the form of abstracts only. Abstracts
can be up to two A4 pages in 10pt or larger type and should include a
title. Omit name and affiliation, and obvious self-reference. Note: we
no longer ask for a separate page for data and figures (c-/f- and
related structures). They can be included in the text of the abstract,
obeying the overall two-page limit. Please submit your abstract in
.pdf format (or a plain text file). If you have any trouble converting
your file into pdf please contact the Program Committee at the address

The number of submissions is not restricted.  However, the number of
oral presentations per participant is limited.  The author of a
single-authored paper which is accepted for oral presentation cannot
also appear as the sole author or first author of a second orally
presented paper.  Participants may be listed as the first author of at
most two jointly submitted papers accepted for oral presentation.
Authors may want to keep this in mind when stating their preferences
concerning the mode of presentation of their submissions.

All abstracts will be reviewed by at least three people. Papers will
appear in the proceedings, which will be published online by CSLI
Publications. Selected papers may also appear in a printed volume
published by CSLI Publications.

If you have queries about abstract submission or have problems using the
EasyChair submission system, please contact the Program Committee.

Program Committee (Email: lfg12 "at"
Mary Dalrymple, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Dag Haug, University of Oslo, Norway

Local conference organizers (Email: lfg2012 "at"

I Wayan Arka (the Australian National University and Udayana University)
David Gil (Max Planck Institute)
I Nyoman Arya Wibawa (Udayana University)
Meladel Mistica (Australian National University)

An-lang mailing list
An-lang at

More information about the An-lang mailing list